

## MINUTES OF COUNCIL PROCEEDINGS

At an Extraordinary Meeting of the Council for the Borough of Slough held at the Flexi Hall, The Centre, Farnham Road, Slough, SL1 4UT on Monday, 6th June, 2016 at 7.00 pm

Present:-

The Worshipful the Mayor (Arvind Dhaliwal), in the chair; Councillors Ajaib, Anderson, Bains, Bal, Bedi, Brooker, Carter, Chahal, Chaudhry, Cheema, Chohan, Coad, Dar, Davis, Amarpreet Dhaliwal, M Holledge, N Holledge, Hussain, Mann, Matloob, Morris, Munawar, Parmar, Plenty, Qaseem, Rana, Rasib, Sadiq, A Sandhu, R Sandhu, Sarfraz, Shah, Sharif, Smith, Strutton, Swindlehurst, Usmani and Wright.

**Apologies for Absence:-** Councillors Nazir, Pantelic and Sohal.

## 12. Declarations of Interest

Councillor Bal declared that a member of his family was employed by Slough Borough Council.

## 13. To Consider the removal of the Leader of the Council, Councillor Robert Anderson and to elect a new Leader of the Council.

Prior to consideration of the motion, Councillor Anderson addressed the meeting and tendered his resignation as the Leader of the Council. The motion to remove Councillor Anderson as Leader was therefore not moved.

(Councillors Anderson, Brooker, Carter, Davis, M.Holledge, N.Holledge, Mann, Parmar, Plenty and Swindlehurst left the meeting).

It was proposed by Councillor Matloob, Seconded by Councillor Rasib,

"That Councillor Munawar be elected as Leader of the Council."

The Chief Executive confirmed that the appointment must be for up to four years in accordance with Article 7 of the Constitution. Members were advised that any proposals to change Article 7 would have to be submitted to the Member Panel on the Constitution for consideration.

A prior request having been made for the record of the voting:

There voted for Councillor Munawar:

## Council - 06.06.16

I here voted against:	
Councillors Strutton and Wright	
There abstained from voting:	
Councillor Chohan1	
Resolved – That Councillor Munawar be elected as Leader of the Council for a period of four years.	
Cha	ir

(Note: The Meeting opened at 7.00 pm and closed at 7.32 pm)